» News

Play With Aloha! Question of the Month - July 2012

From USTA Improve Your Game - The Final Word USTA Director of Officials, Richard Kaufman
  

Q. What is the ruling when a ball falls out of the opponent's pocket and is a distraction?

A. You need to look at two scenarios – one without on-court officials and one with on-court officials.

If there are NO officials on court: If a ball falls from the pocket of a player or falls from the hand of the player during a point, that player cannot call the let since he/she created the hindrance. It is up to the opponent to call the hindrance and play a let. This call must be made immediately and not after the point has been played out.

If this happens continually, you should ask the player to take better care with the second ball.

If there are officials on court: The umpire will call a let immediately if the point is still in progress and warn the player that the next time it happens, it will be deemed a deliberate hindrance (even if unintentional) and loss of point.

Submit your "burning question" to odtaweb@gmail.com and we'll find the answer for you.

 
 
 

Back

 
 

 
 
 
 
Close